Roles & Responsibilities of the Council

The Parish Council comprises a Chairman plus ten other members; one of whom is designated Vice-Chairman. All eleven Members are elected for a four-year term. The next election is due to be held in May 2020. All Councillors are members of all Council Committees.

The Full Council meets on the second Thursday of each month (except August). There is also a meeting of the Planning Committee held on the second and fourth Thursday of each month. These latter meetings are called to consider planning applications and start at 7.30pm. The Full Council meeting immediately follows the Planning meeting on the evening of the second Thursday and usually starts at about 8.00pm.

Meetings of the Finance & Performance Committee are held quarterly and during the daytime. Meetings of the Management Committee are held on a regular basis, usually during the daytime. Details of meeting dates can be found on the website.

All meetings, including the Annual Parish Assembly, are held at the Parish Council offices in Hainault Road, Chigwell. The Annual Parish Assembly takes place in April each year.

The Parish Council has two members of staff based at the Offices in Hainault Road, Chigwell and two staff members located at  the Chigwell Cemetery in Manor Road, Chigwell.

 Chigwell Parish Council 2019/20 

Chairman: Councillor Barry Scrutton
Vice-chairman: Councillor Deborah Barlow