Roles & Responsibilities of the Council

Chigwell Parish Council is a local government body that represents the interests of residents within the Chigwell parish boundaries. The council's responsibilities include managing local amenities, providing community services, and representing the views of the local community to higher tiers of government.

The councillors of the Chigwell Parish Council are elected by residents in the parish and serve as representatives of their communities. They work together to make decisions on matters such as planning applications, local events, and the maintenance of public spaces. Councillors also act as a point of contact for local residents to raise concerns, share their views, and receive information about council activities.

In addition, councillors are responsible for ensuring that the council operates in accordance with the law and good governance principles, and that it is financially responsible and accountable to its constituents. They play a crucial role in shaping the future of the local community by representing the interests and views of residents and making decisions that benefit the community as a whole.

The Parish Council is composed of eleven members. All members are elected for a four-year term. The Chair and Vice Chair plus Committee Chairs are appointed at the Parish's Annual meeting each May. 

The Full Council convenes at least four times annually, typically beginning at 8:00 pm. The Planning Committee meets twice a month, generally on the second and fourth Thursdays, at 7:30 pm, to review planning applications.  All members serve on both the Full Council and the Planning Committee

The Finance and Governance Committee meets monthly while the Community Assets and Community Services Committee meet on an ad hoc basis. The Personnel Committee meets at least quarterly, although parts of the meeting may be closed to the public, press, and staff due to confidentiality. The times and dates for all meetings can be seen on the website along with agendas and minutes.

All meetings, including the Annual Parish Assembly, are held at the Parish Council offices located at Hainault Road, Chigwell. The Annual Parish Assembly, is scheduled in May 

The Parish Council employs two staff members, who work at the Hainault Road office and three additional staff members, the Cemetery Registrar, are based at the Chigwell Cemetery on Manor Road and a cleaning and maintenance support at all premises.